To write you own review of the Heather House Bed and Breakfast please follow the link here

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Had breakfast here before going on walk in Wicklow mountains. It is a great place for food and the staff are always very pleasant and helpful. If you are looking for somewhere for good food and service this place is hard to beat.

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Had breakfast here after a long hike. Best breakfast ever and friendly atmosphere. Service was prompt and the lady who served us was very friendly .

Reviewed 13 January 2013

I spent 1 night here while travelling round Ireland with a group of friends and I wish we could have stayed longer. Superb location, lovely accommodation, great food and friendly owner and all staff. We all loved the Writers´ room where we learnt a lot about Irish writers. Also, the staff were very flexible with our food arrangements and gave us some great sightseeing tips. We all loved our stay in the Wicklow Heather and I am sure we will be back. Top class peace and quite and beauty.

Reviewed 7 December 2012

We have stayed in this gem many times in the garden of Ireland.We live in Dublin not far from the airport so its less than an hour on the M50 .The house is great but the private rooms/apartments at the back are the BEST value AROUND.Food is top class and we have recommended it and brought many of our friends to this b and b where none have been disappointed.Just perfect. Room Tip: Tell them room suits and its yours.Many options. Exceptionally top class in every respect.

Reviewed 27 December 2012

My girlfriend and I had planned to spend a weekend around the Glendalough area as neither of us had even been before. We weren't familiar with the region at all but Heather House was recommended to us. From the moment of arrival to departure EVERYTHING surpassed our expectations.

From the time we stepped out of the car we were shown to our room with a friendly welcome, no hassle or mention of payment at all. The room was excellent - warm, spacious and stylishly decorated with a traditional touch. The kitchenette was convenient and the ensuite was sparklingly clean, stocked with plenty of cotton towels. Just outside the rooms at the back was a lovely extensive garden area that dropped down into a slope and looked out onto the surrounding Wicklow mountains. Perfect for a warm summer evening, I'd imagine. 

The restaurant, 100 meters down the road was simply wonderful. It had a very traditional Irish country theme inside and out, with old farm equipment and artifacts subtly decorating the walls and ceilings. The atmosphere was very good - candle-lit tables of couples and families eating and drinking, with a perfect balance of pub 'craic' and restaurant intimacy. We were shown to a table within seconds of arriving and served with drinks very promptly. The menu was very versatile and appetising. The lovely lady (didn't get her name) who took our order was very knowledgeable about the menu and despite the restaurant being very busy gave the time to tell us about the restaurant and the area. The food was flawless - sublime, delicious, plentiful, everything perfect (no exaggeration!). We returned to our room after a very enjoyable evening, Breakfast was served until midday (as far as I recall) in the same restaurant.

Once again, we couldn't believe how excellent everything was. Service was A1, full-Irish breakfast was just spot on, absolutely delicious. Betty, the owner, was going around to the tables with home-made Christmas pudding (it was in December), which again was very tasty. It actually came to the point where I was looking for anything that was less than perfect, just for the sake of criticism! Without blaming the weather, I couldn't find anything to fault.

Will definitely make it my business to return to Heather House! Donal & Asia (December 2012)

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just back from a lovely night in Heather House / Wicklow Heather, stayed in the apartments and ate in the restaurant, my second time there and I'll keep going back

Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Wicklow Heather is run by same people who run Trooperstown Lodge and 'The Wicklow Heather Restaurant. We stayed in an apartment behind the Wicklow heather B&B. This was located in Laragh village, next to the Wicklow Heather restaurant. It was about 3minutes drive from Glendalough National Park and 20 minutes walk. The apartment was well located, very comfortable and clean. A selection of DVD’s were also provided. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. All our expectations were surpassed. They even offered to drive us to and from Glendalough National Park. The breakfast provided at Wicklow Heather Restaurant was delicious. The restaurant was very charming and was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy wonderful food.

Reviewed 2 November 2012

This tied for our favourite place that we stayed on our 12 day trip. This place is owned by the same people as Trooperstown. At first we wanted to stay at Trooperstown because of all the good reviews But we arrived there a day early and wanted to stay an extra night, which turned out to be one of the best on the fly decisions we made. Trooperstown was full so we stayed at Wicklow Heather. All I can say is I don't see how Trooperstown could be better. This place was so clean, the hosts were awesome, and their restaurant (also named Wicklow Heather) is right next door. The Restaurant was just as nice as the B&B. It was just amazing and was our lifesaver after staying at a not so nice B&B in Kinsale (the only one we didn't research, before staying). The whole atmosphere said "Welcome to Ireland". If you don't find this place relaxing, you will never relax. I think Trooperstown or Wicklow Heather are both good since the same people own both, but because Wicklow Heather is right next to the Restaurant I would stay here. There Restaurant is great to go to at night and have a good old Irish time. Thanks again for making our trip great

Reviewed 12 June 2012

What a find this place is!! Great location,next door to the excellent Wicklow Heather restaurant which is run by the same family. Great food and breakfast is served from 8 to 12!! Clean modern rooms. Great views at the back of the house. John the owner is very friendly and helpful. Loved this place. Very comfortable, quiet, spacious and clean rooms. Superb breakfast. Plenty of parking and easy to find. Everything you would want from an excellent B&B. Negatives – None

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our stay at the Heather House was absolutely wonderful. Two tired Wicklow Way walkers with no place to stay overnight (it is forbidden to camp in Glendalough valley itself) were warmly welcomed at this lovely B&B. We even got an off-season discount. Peaceful and quiet place with a lot of birds singing - and that is all you can hear. The breakfast was also very tasty and we got back on track with a great feeling.